Technically, I guess it’s really no-sugar-added Banana Bread

My family craves baked goods.  All of us seem to find comfort and enjoyment in a slice of cake, or couple of cookies with our tea.  Of course, it wouldn’t be great to indulge in delicious decadent cakes, cookies and pies every day.  My answer has been to add healthier baking into our rotation, and this sugarless banana bread has been one of my biggest hits.  The taste is somewhere between bread and bananabread, the texture is all banana bread.  It goes well with coffee (especially if you’re having a flavoured or sweet coffee) and tea, and it’s perfect for school or work lunches and picnics. If you want to add sugar, you can add about 1&1/2 cups to it to make it taste like traditional banana bread, and you can cut back from there, if you like.

Ingredients

  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup mashed bananas (3-4 bananas)
  • 1 3/4 cup flour (whole wheat is what I use most)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • large pinch of salt
  • Optionals: raisins, chocolate chips, chopped prunes, mixed dry fruit, walnuts, etc

Steps

Blend eggs, milk, oil & bananasIMG_8834

I like buttermilk for this recipe, I use it a lot in baking, but if I feel like there’s too much in the fridge I put it in those breastmilk pouches and freeze them in 1/4 cup portions.  So easy pop out, de-thaw and use in recipes.  Also, did you know you can make your own buttermilk?

 

IMG_8835

 

Sift sugar, flour, baking soda and salt

You could just sift in a bowl with a fork or wisk.  I usually pour my sifting ingredients into my sifter, unless I want my baking to be more dense.  Also, I like to use whole wheat, or I blend whole wheat, but today I only had all-purpose flour.

IMG_8836Add to banana mix.  Mix well.

I usually just sift it right into the  middle of my banana mixture using my mixture.  Then incorperate it with a wooden spoon.  This spoon is looking very dehydrated.  You should really oil your spoons with a little olive oil regularly to prevent this!  After you’ve mixed it well, fold in your optionals and pour it into your loaf pan.  Pop it into the oven for 1 hr and 20 minutes.  Use a toothpick to make sure it’s done before you take it out to cool.

Voila!

IMG_8837

Falling Day’s Sugarless Banana Bread

  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup mashed bananas (3-4 bananas)
  • 1 3/4 cup flour (whole wheat is what I use most)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • large pinch of salt
  • Optionals: raisins, chocolate chips, chopped prunes, mixed dry fruit, walnuts, etc

Preheat oven to 325F.  Grease a 9×5 loaf pan. Blend eggs, milk, oil & bananas. Sift sugar, flour, baking soda and salt.  Add to banana mix.  Mix well.  Add optionals.  Bake for 1h20m or until a toothpick comes out of the centre clean.

 

If you make this, take a picture and leave a comment!

