OK, fine–there’s nothing all that witchy about Playdoh. But we Hedgewitches are a DIY bunch, so I’m calling it Hedgewitch Playdoh.

Interestingly, anything can have what we would consider magical properties if you take the time and energy to imbue it with such.  Sure, I could just mindlessly make Playdoh, thinking about my grocery list, my plans for the week, or my secret love affair with James Alexander Malcom Mackenzie Fraser. If I  want to make Hedgewitch Playdoh though, I think about how much I love my children (who will play with it) and I think about how they will be inspired to discover and learn when they play with it. If I engage them in helping me make the Playdoh (which I highly recommend!), I think that adds some specialness to it as well–it may bring to mind the love and care I have for them when they use it. It’s what we like to refer to in my house as Mommy Magic.

Ok, anyways–on with the Playdoh making.

I’ve had this Playdoh recipe for so long  I’ve tried a lot of other recipes and some of them have been quite good–but for quality and simplicity you can’t beat this one.

Hedgewitch Playdoh Recipe

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 cup salt
  • 2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1 tsp vegetable oil
  • Colouring/scent (optional)

Put all the ingredients in a saucepan and cook over medium heat while constantly stirring. When the doh begins to form a large ball, turn it out onto parchment paper and allow to cool. Then knead the doh until smooth and store in an airtight container or ziplock bag.

Assemble your ingredients and your saucepan.

img_9115

Add ingredients in your saucepan (this seems to be so much fun for little kids!)


Add your colouring and scents.

 

img_9118
Oct 2014 PlayDoh: Red Maple, Pumpkin Pie, Roasted Turkey, & Black Licorice

We have played around so much with scent and colour!  One year for my son’s kindergarten class I made them an Thanksgiving-themed Playdoh complete with “Roasted Turkey” Playdoh that smelled and looked pretty much just like a Thanksgiving turkey. We adults found it fairly gross, but the kids thought it was amazing.

To make scented playdoh, you can use essential oils, cooking extracts, or spices.  The Thanksgiving turkey one was made using poultry seasoning, the Licorice with star anise extract.  Sometimes when the kids have the sniffles I make it with eucalyptus EEO or something else to help open up their sinuses. One year I tried to make mosquito repellent Playdoh for outside use…that didn’t work out so well.   You can also use kool aid or jello, which will also give you some colour.

We mostly use food colouring for the colour.  A few drops will give you soft pastels, and a large number of drops will give you a darker colour.  If you want something solid (like seen in the black licorice one in the picture) you’ll need icing dye.  You can also use paint!

FullSizeRender (14)
I used paint to make this “snow doh”.  It was scented with peppermint EEO!

Next, you stir it, mixing all ingredients together.  I do this when it is already on the stove, starting to warm up.

 

Keep stirring it while it’s on the stove, it doesn’t take long, maybe 5 minutes or so until it’s ready.  You’ll know it’s ready when it forms a great big ball.

Almost there!

So close!  Just a few more seconds.

 

Now just turn out the Playdoh onto a sheet of parchment paper to cool.  You’ll want to put a plate or a cutting board underneath it, it’s hot!

When it cools, knead it just like bread until it’s smooth and pliable.  My kids love this part!

And here you have it, a big beautiful ball of homemade,  Hedgewitch playdoh!

img_9110

Don’t forget to put it in an airtight container or ziplock bag!

img_9111
This stuff stays fresh for MONTHS.  Sheltie photobomb not included with playdoh!

 

Let me know if you make this playdoh!  And leave pictures in the comments, I would love to see them!

