We use up cycled washcloths around here like crazy. We use them for cleaning up the dishes and the kitchen, for washing our faces and our bodies, and other things (including a brief flirtation with family cloth).

We have different sets for different things, the largest ones are wash clothes for our bodies, medium ones for cleaning up in the kitchen and small ones for washing our faces.

I use either old flannel receiving blankets or PJs as the material. It’s wonderfully soft and quite durable.

How to make washcloths with a sewing machine

It’s very easy. This is a beginner project for sure.

There are several ways to do this, you could simply cut out your squares or rectangles and run a zigzag stitch around the edges. This gives you a nice, in encountered one-ply washcloth. This was actually my very first sewing project, where I learned the basics of my sewing machine.

This is a single-ply kitchen washcloth I made about 5 years ago. We still use it! Note how the zigzag stitch catches the material and falls off the side. this is how you want it.

My favourite washcloth, however is the double-ply. There’s just something about the increased thickness that feels right. They are extremely durable and comfortable.

Falling Day’s Fave WashCloths

I’ll show you how to make them with a flannel receiving blanket, but the basic principals are the same no matter what you’re using.

Take your blanket and fold it right-sides together.

If you’re fancy, you should iron your fabric.

Use your favourite cutting tools to cut out the pieces to the size you want (do not half it!). I’m making these so that they fit in these diaper wipes containers, where I still store them!


Once you have a nice stack of squares or rectangles, all right-side-facing their partners, you can move to your sewing machine.


Sew each pair right-side-facing all the way around, leaving a small whole to pull your cloth right-side-out.

If hou want sharp corners, you can sew a straight line across them and clip them before pulling it right-side-out, but I cant be bothered when it comes to things like washcloths, unless I’m gifting or selling them.

Turn it right-side-out.


Do your top stitching, and they’re done! Easy, right??


Repeat with each pair until you’re done!

Mine fit nicely into the diaper wipe containers. Soon I’ll write a post about my adventures with baby wipes, and how I still have them around even though I don’t have anymore babies in diapers!


It’s a very simple, easy project for a beginner to learn on, or a proficient sewer to quickly work up. Not only is it more environmentally friendly to make your own washcloths, but they are better quality and less expensive too.

