A historical recipe? Yes, please! I will try this after I go strawberry picking later this month!

The Swedish Farmer's Daughter

Strawberries940x627

I like historical biographies.  I find learning about how past generations lived, practiced medicine and government, and of course what they ate fascinating.  I am a avid collector of books and have picked up some very old books for pennies at garage sales.  One such book is titled, “My Boyhood,” by John Burroughs, copyright 1924.

Mr. Burroughs was born on the family farm in the Catskills, in Delaware County, New York on 1837.  He was the seventh of ten children and grew up to be a distinguished author and respected conservationist. In his book, “My Boyhood”  he acknowledges his friendships with many of the rich and famous of that time period including:  Walt Whitman, Theodore Roosevelt, John Muir, Henry Ford, Harvey Firestone and Thomas Edison.  In addition he describes personally seeing many famous Civil War figures such as William T. Sherman, Ulysses S. Grant and President Abraham Lincoln.

What engaged my interest in his book was…

View original post 595 more words

