Hello my friends!  It’s been forever since my last post!  I was battling pneumonia for several months in the late fall and early winter.  I finally realized I needed to put everything on the back burner and focus on getting better!  You never really get how debilitating and how long-lasting pneumonia is until you get it!  Anyhow, I’m all better now and the holidays are over and I’m more or less caught up with life!  And of course, I’m back to share the goings on of my simple life with you!

2017-01-25-12-47-47What the heck is a pepparkakor you ask, and why would you eat it??  It’s crunchy and  tastes like a complex gingerbread cookie.  In fact, it is the Swedish version of that famous holiday treat!  It has a warm, delightful taste, just perfect for the cold snowy days of winter.  I usually make it once a year, but it’s such a big batch it lasts for a month or two (did I mention they really keep well?).  There are several versions of pepparkakor, but here I will share with you my basic recipe.  Sometimes I change it up a little, but my kids request the “plain” ones mostly.  It’s a comfort food of home thing by now I guess.

Falling Day’s Pepparkakor Recipe

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter, room temp
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 1 tbsp real maple syrup (you could sub corn syrup)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup clementine juice (or some kind of orange)
  • 2(ish) tsp clemintine zest
  • 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 tsp ground ginger
  • 2 tsp ground cloves
2017-01-25-11-20-47
I like to zest with a really fine, self-contained grater like the one pictured here from IKEA.  It’s easy on the fingers, and no mess.
2017-01-25-11-24-45
Also, I was kind of guessing at the amount of zest.  I just sort of grate until I think I have enough.  Does this look like 2 tsp to you?  Just put in this much! 🙂

Directions

I highly recommend using an electric mixer for this, but it can be done by hand!

  • Preheat the oven to 400F & line several cookie sheets with parchment paper.
  • In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar.
  • Add maple syrup, egg, juice and zest.  Mix until combined.2017-01-25-11-47-21
  • In a separate bowl, sift together flour, baking soda, and spices.

    2017-01-25-11-40-28
    I love making the Dry Ingredient Pyramid with my sifter.
  • Add dry to wet ingredients 1/4 cup at a time until combined.
    2017-01-25-11-52-37
    The dough looks amazing, like slightly moist Florida sand!

    2017-01-25-11-52-34
    You can pretend your playing in the sand on a warm summer day!!
  • Roll out the dough about 1/8 inch thick (a little thicker if you like crunchy on the outside and a little chewy in the middle, I make several like this for my son).
  • Cut them up with cookie cutters.
    2017-01-25-11-30-35
    You can find Starwars cookie cutters like mine here: Starwars Cookie Cutters.  You can find the Doctor Who ones here: Doctor Who Cookie Cutters.

     

    I like to use my super fancy Doctor Who and Star Wars cookie cutters as well as my regular ones.  They are a little tricky with this dough, but not undoable, and to be honest, the kids don’t care if yoda’s face is a little wonky, and they love to tell everyone they eat “Wookie Cookies”.

    2017-01-25-12-47-32
    Wookie Cookie
  • Bake for 8-10 minutes and cook on a wire rack when done.

2017-01-25-12-45-27

2017-01-25-12-47-47As you can see, some of the cookie shapes come out better than other with the Doctor Who/Starwars cookies. The Tardises are all pretty warmed, and poor K9’s head kept coming off…but in the end, they’re not so bad.  Really the plain old cookie cutter shapes turn out the best!

Enjoy!!!

 

