It’s been too long since I’ve set my days.  Glad to have the time and energy to set my Hedgey goals again!

“Loud are the thunder drums in the tents of the mountains.
Oh, long, long
Have we eaten chia seeds
and dried deer’s flesh of the summer killing.
We are tired of our huts
and the smoky smell of our clothing.
We are sick with the desire for the sun
And the grass on the mountain.”
–  Paiute Late Winter Song

Image result for imbolc wakingIt’s February!  Imbolc is here!  This is one of my favourite times, because while it is not particularly known for it’s great feasts or parties, it’s the time we mark the waking of The Great Mother from her Great Sleep.  She will start to rouse, and slowly her limbs will start to come alive.  And though we cannot see any sign of her yet, deep in the ground the sleeping spark of life will start to come to life, the earliest and heartiest signs of spring will begin their journey to the sun.  While our year ended at Samhain, it is only now that a new one begins! St. Brigid's Cloak

Outside it’s not been the whitest of winters.  Here in Ontario we have had some snow, but much rain and ice.  I’m hoping Februrary will bring with it the snows that will get us out tobogganing and tubing and building snowmen and forts.

Image may contain: 1 person, standing, snow, tree, sky, child, outdoor and nature
One of the few days this winter that it was both warm enough, and snowy enough to take to the local hills!

 

Image result for imbolc

My plans for this month are:

  • Take to the hills for more downhill adventure (may the snow participate!)
  • Celebrate Imbolc and hopefully write an article about it! Image result for brigid's cross
  • I do usually start some seeds off on Imbolc

    No automatic alt text available.
    Feb 2016
  • Make Sticky Honey and Date Tea Loaf
  • Make Brigid’s Oatcakes–the kids love these with honey or jam! Image result for st brigid's oatcakes
  • Make some
  • Take a winter Witchy Walk
  • I’m not one for altars, but I think I will make something to celebrate the waking of the Great Mother
  • Start planning my spring gardens in earnest (also known as organizing my garden grimoire)

 

 

Image result for imbolc waking

 

