I was craving a good ole fashioned taste of home last week.  My dad’s side of the family is from Mississippi.  It’s where I spent my childhood summers, working on the family farm.  It’s also where I developed a deep appreciation for Southern Cooking.  On the whole, Southern Cooking is not very healthy.  Well, that’s not true–there are healthy components.  We had a lot of fresh vegetables from farm to table.  We’d spend a lot of time snapping beans, shelling peas and shucking corn for the dinner table.  Lots of homegrown fruit and veg was put up for winter, and my grandparents hardly bought anything from the store.

But I’m not here to talk about that today, nor about the fact that my Grandma cooked everything in butter.  No, I’m here to talk about 2 Southern Style Banana Puddings and about a more reasonable Banana Pudding you can make with your kids that won’t cost you 1000 calories per serving.  The first two I might make to bring to a potluck or a breastfeeding/pregnant friend.

Ok, here we go!!

Southern Style Banana Pudding–Grandma’s Recipe

This is what my Grandma served up.  It’s maybe the least heavy handed of all the puddings, the taste is a little more subtle and not POW-IN-YOUR-FACE-BANANA flavour.  It’s the most homemade, and its delicious

Ingredients

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 Tbsp flour
  • 1/2 stick margarine
  • 4 bananas, sliced into 1/4-inch thick coins
  • 1 can evaporated milk
  • 1 can water
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 bag vanilla wafers

Directions

  1. In a medium bowl, combine sugar and flour.
  2. Beat in eggs. Transfer to 2-quart saucepan.
  3. In saucepan, cook over medium heat until it starts to thicken.
  4. Add margarine and vanilla.
  5. Layer wafers and bananas in a dish and pour the mixture over them.
  6. Refrigerate for at least two hours, but it’s even better the next days when the wafers absorb moisture.
  7. Share with your friends!

Southern Style Banana Pudding — Nazarene Church Recipe

At all the church meetings of my youth were potluck, and inevitably someone would bring this banana pudding.  Evangelical Christians are obsessed with sin, and I’m sure this pudding burst into flames at least once or twice when it crossed the holy threshold.  I’m equally sure that if my relatives ever saw their Banana Pudding recipes on my pagan website, I’d burst into flames.  So let’s just keep this recipe between us, okay?

Ingredients

  • 1 large Cool Whip
  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 large package of instant pudding mix (vanilla or banana)
  • 3 cups milk
  • 6 bananas, sliced into coins
  • 1 box of vanilla wafers

Directions

  1. Mix the milk and the pudding.
  2. Blend in Cool Whip and sweetened condensed milk (oh boy!).
  3. Alternate layers of pudding blend with layers of wafers and bananas.
  4. Chill for at least 4 hours, overnight is better.
  5. Kiss your waistline goodbye!

Southern Style Banana Pudding– Hedgewitch Style;  AKA: Make it With Your Kids Style; AKA: Lazy Style

Alright friends, this is how my daughter and I make Southern Style Banana Pudding.  Really, she can make it herself.

2017-02-18-13-42-02
These knives are the best!  They are kids knives!  You can buy them here: Curious Chef Kid’s Knives

It’s a taste of home that’s super simple to make and maybe slightly better for your body, or at least won’t give you the diabeetus.

Ingredients

  • Large box banana pudding mix (or you could use vanilla)
  • The milk required to make the pudding, I use 2%
  • About 3 bananas, sliced into coins
  • Nilla Wafers

Directions

  1. Mix up your pudding.

    2017-02-18-13-40-44
    Yeah, I used a mixer.  This is lazy pudding, don’t judge me!
  2. Layer your pudding, wafers and bananas.2017-02-18-13-45-012017-02-18-13-45-462017-02-18-13-46-372017-02-18-13-48-06
  3. Chill overnight, or for several hours.
  4. Enjoy!
