I love lentils.  They are so healthy and versatile.  This soup is great! A small cup of it makes a  good first course for a fancy dinner, but it’s also fine as dinner all on its own.  It’s rich with many flavour notes, and it’s pretty easy to make.

Lentil Soup

Ingredients

  • olive oil
  • 1 large onion–chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic–minced
  • 1 tablespoon tomato paste
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • few pinches salt
  • fresh ground pepper, to taste
  • a pinch of chili powder
  • 4-6 cups broth (I use chicken)
  • 1 cup red lentils
  • 1-2 large carrots–diced
  • juice from 1 lemon
  • chopped fresh cilantro
  • more olive oil
  • more chili powder

Directions

  • Heat a little olive oil in a large pot, using medium-high heat
  • Cook up the onion and garlic until golden brown2017-02-24 18.40.35
  • Stir in the tomato paste, cumin, salt, pepper and chili powder.  Let this cook, while stirring for about 2 minutes–this helps release the fragrance of the spices2017-02-24 18.40.23
  • Pour in the broth.  How much you use will depend on how you want the consistency.  If I want a fancy, thick almost puree type soup, I only use 4 cups, if I want it more brothy and homey I use up to 6 cups.  Generally I use my homemade broth, but of course you can use store-bought2017-02-24 18.40.18
  • Stir in the lentils and the carrot.  If you want a slightly sweeter soup, use the extra carrot, if not then one large carrot will do!2017-02-24 18.39.56
  • Bring to a boil over high heat, then cover and reduce to a simmer until the lentils are soft (takes about half an hour)2017-02-24 18.10.03
  • Now decide if you want smooth soup or a chunky puree.
    • For a smooth soup, pour into your blender.  Give it a few pulses, then leave it on puree for a bit until it’s smooth.  You may need to do this in batches.
    • For a chunkier puree, use a stick blender right in the pot.  Just pulse it around, until it’s the consistency you like.  2017-02-24 18.43.11
  • Stir in the lemon and cilantro.
  • Season it to taste with salt and pepper
  • Drizzle a little olive oil in and sprinkle it with a little chili powder, I also like to garnish it with a little left over cilantro.2017-02-24 18.51.39

It’s best if served right away, but I store left overs in a mason jar.  2017-02-24 19.23.54

2017-02-24 18.09.03Since this recipe involves broth and since you’ll have some veg scraps to deal with, I thought I’d share one of my tricks with you.  Whenever I have veggie scraps, I put them into a ziplock and tuck them away in the freezer.  Then when I have enough, or I have animal bones or something I take them out and use them for stock.  It really economizes your veggies, nothing goes to waste and it’s a delicious and easy way to enjoy more homemade!  If you want to know more about broths and stocks, check out this link: A Word about Stocks and Broths.  If you’re interested to know more about bone broth, check out this link: What’s in the Couldron?

 

 

 

